Hi, My Sweetheart overview

Hello Asian Drama fans out there!^^

The first drama I want to talk about is the one I just finished watching: Hi, My Sweetheart.

Thanks to: http://hellogamers.com/forum/index.php/forum/88-taiwanese/46-watch-hi-my-sweetheart.html#58

As I have already finished the whole drama, I haven’t decided exactly how I’m going to do this, but I think I’m leaning towards doing episode by episode commentary anyway. Ideally I should do them as soon as I’ve finished watching each one, but alas, I watched all of it before this blog was born. 😦 So bear with me. First, it might be a good idea to introduce this drama and that will be what I do for sure for each drama I write about.

Hi, My Sweetheart is another Rainie Yang drama. This is the first time she gets to collaborate with Show Luo in a TV drama series. I believe it’s the first one that they’ve done acting together. They have collaborated in the past on singing projects, just not acting. I must say, this is the first time I have ever seen or heard of Show Luo and I’m liking what I’ve seen so far. 😉 I didn’t even know what he really looked like until later in the show. His character has a double identity. His real name on the show is Hseuh Hai, or affectionately known as Ah Hai by his Da Jie (big sister) and Er Jie (second older sister). However, because he leaves Taiwan and goes to Hangzhou for the first time to study at university by himself and he has a childhood obsession with the Pink Panther, his fake name is Lin Da Lung. “Da Lung is the Pink Panther’s best friend.” ^.^

Now, Rainie plays Chen Bao Chu, also known as Bao Chu Jie by her classmates. Hseuh Hai is wealthy, known as young master at home, while Lin Da Lung is poor, poor, poor. Under protection of this fake name is the only way Hseuh Hai can know if someone wants to be his friend for him or for his money. He reluctantly agrees with his Da Jie to keep the fake name while at school. Meanwhile, Bao Chu Jie is shunned by all of her classmates, perhaps even society in general. When Show’s innocent and kind-hearted character accidentally sits in Bao Chu Jie’s seat on the first day, he’s in for a reality wakeup like never before. Rainie’s character would rather be alone than make new friends, but Lin Da Lung leaves her with no choice and soon the two end up research paper partners. Mo Lee, played by Maggie Wu, is the school’s most popular and most beautiful girl, inside and out. She also happens to be the principal’s daughter and in charge of Lin Da Lung’s safety. She, like everyone else on campus, avoids Chen Bao Chu, and advises Lin Da Lung to do the same. But because of some events out of his control, he eventually becomes one of the only friends Bao Chu has at the school. Her only other friend is her Xue Zhang (senior guy from her high school at the time he acquired this nickname), Ho Yen Feng, as played by Lee Wei. He is the only person who knows her long enough to know her true story. Bao Chu is secretly jealous of Mo Lee, afraid that Lin Da Lung likes her better, so she poses as his girlfriend whenever they run into Mo Lee. Eventually this posing becomes real and the two fall in love. Now the question is, will they last after college graduation? Or will a misunderstanding forever stand in their way?

Check out the trailer below:

Stay tuned for my thoughts on each episode plus bloopers!

=^.^=

About YuMin Ye

crazy writer
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

